Breaking News! Typhoon Hits Tokyo!

This week you guys are getting a special treat – not only do you get your weekly blog post, but also this bonus mini-post. Why? Well, sometimes little things come up that allow me to give you even more insights into life in Tokyo. Then, other times BIG things come up that allow me to tell you about life in Tokyo.

Today, a big typhoon has brushed the eastern shore of Japan and hit Tokyo hard. As I write this, it’s still raining and blowing very hard, and my house is shaking. I’m safe, but it’s definitely a good reminder of the fact that Japan is a small island nation, and therefore especially vulnerable to tsunamis and typhoons. In fact, I believe this is the 17th typhoon that Japan has experienced so far this year – and it’s definitely one of the most serious.

Here’s a few short videos that I shot, and hopefully they’ll give you a little hint of the unpredictable weather than Japan can experience at times.

Here’s a short video that I shot from my bedroom window just now; it might not look that serious, but as you’ll see in the news report below, this is one serious storm!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-19776925

 

About Josh

Part-time journalist & student of communication studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Breaking News! Typhoon Hits Tokyo!

  1. Molly says:

    Wow! That’s pretty scary. Thanks for telling us about the storm–it’s really interesting!

    • autofact says:

      Molly, thanks for the comment. It wasn’t scary, but it was very, very wet. What would have been a little scary is if I had been somewhere far from home when they shut down the trains – I don’t know what I would have done!
      These typhoons can be dangerous, but luckily this one was okay for me. It was very hard to sleep with all the noise though!

  2. Cassidy says:

    wow, what a crazy storm! You can actually see the telephone poles bending

    • autofact says:

      Cassidy, thanks for the comment. The telephone poles were bending, the trees were blowing all over the places, but luckily it wasn’t too bad – the next day everything went back to normal. That’s just life in Tokyo! Sometimes small earthquakes happen and people don’t even notice.

  3. Maeve says:

    That is really scary! Did you say that is the 17th typhoon this year? If so, there must be lots over a whole year.

    • autofact says:

      Maeve, thanks for the question – I do believe that I read in the newspaper that it was the 17th typhoon of the year for Japan. They have a lot of them, but not all of them are really serious.

  4. Aaron says:

    I bet its bad, but from the second video it doesn’t look that bad. 17 typhoons by September is amazing!

    • autofact says:

      Aaron, thanks for the comment. I wish I could have got a better video, but to be honest I just didn’t want to go back outside after getting dry and warm in my house. It was tough to see from my bedroom window, and tough to hear on the video, but it made loud noise all night long. It wasn’t scary, just very annoying.

  5. Noah says:

    That is awesome. Seventeen Typhoons by September is unbelievable.

    • autofact says:

      Noah, I could hardly believe it myself when I read that in the newspapers! Pretty amazing, isn’t it? Thanks for the comment.

  6. Annie says:

    Is stuff inside the house falling and shaking, or just the house?

    • autofact says:

      Annie, thanks for your question. It wasn’t like an earthquake, so nothing was falling or shaking. It was just a lot of noise from the wind slamming windows, shutters, and things like that. Japan gets a lot of earthquakes, tsunamis and typhoons, so these houses are built tough!

  7. Sam says:

    Hello! Korea experienced a Category 4 typhoon. My cousins in Korea didn’t go to school because of the dangerous weather. I bet it must be hard to hold onto an umbrella in a typhoon. You must be kidding about the 17 typhoons hitting Japan! By the end of the year at this rate Japan will have more than 20 typhoons hitting it!

    • autofact says:

      That’s right, Sam, 17 typhoons is what I read in the Japanese newspapers. They get a lot of them, but most of them aren’t quite so serious. Some of them people barely notice. They can be dangerous though, just like the one that kept your cousins home from school in Korea! Thanks for the great comment, and for sharing your story.

  8. Rebecca says:

    We don’t get a lot of storms in Portland, which is fine by me, except some thunderstorms and, of course, rain. Lots and lots of rain. We have had a very dry summer and fall so far, which is starting to get tiring. Even my cat has allergies from all the dust. I like a good Portland rain. My dad says, “In Portland it never rains. It is always just about to rain, or it just rained.” I don’t really get what that means, but I think it is if you want to go out somewhere you can’t because it looks like it might rain, and the streets are always wet and full of puddles from right after a rain. It seems to rain quite enough for me, though I do miss it.

  9. Shock000 (Gabe) says:

    (insert me peeing my pants here)

  10. Edil says:

    That typhoon sounds really scary! It sounds like it’s almost always raining in Japan. 17 typhoons sound like alot! Does it rain most of the time in Japan?

  11. Jeffrey says:

    I think it is crazy that Japan followed America after saying they wouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

